À cœur vaillant, rien d'impossible!

To  a valiant heart, nothing is impossible! 

 Ka katshitshishit auen apu tshekuannu nakaukut!

PUAMUN MESHKENU IN ACTION

Puamun Meshkenu (Innu for the “path of a thousand dreams”) is a non-profit organization started in 2016 by Dr. Stanley Vollant. Since its foundation, the organization works to inspire Indigenous Peoples and support them in developing to their full potential. Just like his ancestor Innu Meshkenu, Puamun Meshkenu initiates projects to have a lasting and meaningful impact on the lives of Indigenous youth and to create a structuring movement for all Indigenous communities in Quebec.

Our target audience

Puamun Meshkenu develops projects to inspire and support indigenous peoples to develop their full potential.

To achieve this, we are focusing on projects that can have a positive impact on Indigenous youth.

Puamun, n. i. : dream (pwamu:n)

Meshkenu, n. i. : road, path, way. See also meshkanau, meshkanu

OUR MISSION

Our mission is to inspire and support Indigenous Peoples to follow their own path of a thousand dreams (or “Puamun Meshkenu” in Innu) in a way that is mentally, spiritually, physically and emotionally holistic.

We accompany Indigenous Peoples so that each individual may develop to their full potential and contribute to increase collective wellness with the support of his community. Our actions promote healthy lifestyles, encourage school perseverance and foster reconciliation.

OUR VISION

Our dream (“puamun” in Innu) is that Indigenous Peoples develop to their full potential and contribute to collective well-being.

 

Promoting holistic health, school perseverance and Indigenous identity, Puamun Meshkenu’s recognition and its humane and inclusive

approach lead to concrete actions that develop Indigenous people’s full potential. Its actions have an impact on collective wellness and increase recognition of Indigenous Peoples in society.

OUR VALUES

Tradition 

This value means maintaining and preserving Indigenous cultural traditions, identities and customs. It also means sharing, passing down, valuing and educating with respect for all Indigenous cultures. This value also holds the capacity for resilience and the will to live a contemporary lifestyle with pride.

 

Well-being

This value means working to improve people’s well-being, in ways that are aligned with their needs and respect their experiences and differences. Wellness requires action in order to regain balance and is about responsibility. This value draws on the holistic principles of the Medicine Wheel.

 

Collaboration 

This value means working to reach a common goal, for and by Indigenous Peoples. It also means valuing constructive partnerships with other Indigenous and non-Indigenous Peoples and organizations. Collaboration involves respect, honesty, transparency and a desire for reconciliation. It is illustrated by the strengths and skills, creativity and actions of Puamun Meshkenu’s team members.

 

Commitment 

This value means carrying out our mission with enthusiasm, determination and conviction.This value underlies the organization’s vitality and dynamism in all its endeavours, as well as its sound, optimized and respectful management. This value generates abundance and the realization of dreams, and it also means taking our rightful place. 

OUR GUIDING PRINCIPLES

We consider and respect all aspects of each person in every action and decision.

Regardless of their culture and history, people are respected in their entirety and as a whole. We are listening to the needs Indigenous youth express and developing our actions in consequence.

We take a holistic, humane and inclusive approach.

Our actions are designed and deployed according to the principles of the Medicine Wheel, in order to meet people in the four (4) spheres of their development: mental, emotional, physical and spiritual.

We take climate issues into consideration in our choices and activities as much and whenever possible.
We make environmentally friendly choices for our events and hold our meetings virtually as much as possible. We aim for zero GHG emissions for all our activities. We try to offset any GHG emissions we may incur, as resources are available.

We wish to develop our programming as much as possible across Canada with a 5-8 year perspective. 

Over the long term, we aim to develop our activities and programming across Canada with a view to reaching all Indigenous young Peoples. We are evaluating all requests coming from the other provinces and answering them according to our action plan and resources.

Strategic plan 2020-2025

planification-01.jpg
 

WHERE IT ALL STARTED

The Meshkenu Innu Walking Movement

Innu Meshkenu is a movement started by Dr. Stanley Vollant’s by 6,000-km walk from 2010 to 2017. Travelling the road of his ancestors, Dr. Vollant went to meet Indigenous people living in the communities across Quebec. He sought to convey his message of hope to young people and took the time to visit many schools along the way. The walking movement promotes healthy lifestyle habits and provides both Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities with a universal experience that bridges cultures. A true inspiration for many, the walking movement has touched Indigenous people who have decided to join the great human project that is Innu Meshkenu. Carrying the message of school perseverance to the young people he met along the way, Dr. Vollant gathered their dreams with his walking stick and conveyed hope with the message “With a courageous heart, nothing is impossible.”

MANAWAN-KITIGAN ZIBI LOGBOOK WALKING AT LAC RAPIDE

Dr. Stanley Vollant's entries during his journey

Discover the virtual book of the Innu Walking Meshkenu

Couverture en.png

WHO IS STANLEY VOLLANT?

STANLEY VOLLANT'S BIOGRAPHY

An Innu from Pessamit, Dr. Stanley Vollant grew up on the northern shores of the St. Lawrence River. From an early age, he was introduced to traditional Indigenous teachings by his maternal grandfather, who taught him the importance of community values.

 

He completed his secondary and post-secondary studies in the Québec City area before obtaining a medical degree (MD) from the Université de Montréal in 1989. He completed his training in 1994 with a specialized diploma in general surgery. He became the very first Indigenous surgeon in Quebec.

 

Dr. Vollant began his career in December of the same year at the Centre hospitalier régional de Baie-Comeau, where he served in general surgery as a specialist. He has practiced as a general surgeon in several hospitals, including in Dolbeau-Mistassini and Chicoutimi and at the Montfort Hospital in Ottawa. He has also practiced general surgery in his community and worked with his people.  He is currently practicing general surgery at Notre-Dame Hospital in Montréal.

 

In 2004, he obtained the title of Assistant Professor of Surgery and served as the director of the Indigenous Program in the University of Ottawa’s Faculty of Medicine. In 2010, he was appointed coordinator of the Indigenous component of the Faculty of Medicine at the Université de Montréal. He then created the mini-health schools to introduce Indigenous youth to employment possibilities in the various health fields.

Dr. Vollant’s notable contributions include serving as chair of the Quebec Medical Association and sitting on the Executive Council of the Canadian Medical Association. He is the very first Indigenous person to be appointed head of a medical association in North America. Over the years, he has also been awarded numerous distinctions. In 1996, he garnered the Governor General of Canada’s Aboriginal Role Model Award and, in 2014, he was named a Knight of the National Order of Quebec. He was awarded the Lieutenant-Governor of Quebec’s Medal for Exceptional Merit in 2017 and its First Peoples (Innu Nation) Medal in 2019.

 

During a pilgrimage to Compostela, Spain, he felt called to travel the road of his ancestors to various Indigenous communities. In the fall of 2010, he therefore set off on a long walk throughout Quebec to promote healthy lifestyle habits among Indigenous youth. This project became a great movement called Innu Meshkenu, which means “the Innu way.” Dr. Vollant walked over 6,000 kilometres in all. Several other Indigenous people joined him in walking to inspire young people to believe in their potential.

 

Dr. Vollant decided to create the organization Puamun Meshkenu in 2016 to pursue in the spirit of the Innu Meshkenu. With its numerous school perseverance and healthy lifestyle programs, the organization is growing according to the holistic approach of Indigenous cultures. For more than 30 years, Dr. Vollant has taken interest in First Nations health and, with increasing commitment, in the overall well-being of Indigenous people in Canada.

To find out more about
Dr. Vollant's life

Stanley Vollant : de Compostelle à Kuujjuaq (partie 1 de 2): 
https://curio.ca/fr/video/stanley-vollant-de-compostelle-a-kuujjuaq-partie-1-de-2-14431/

 

Stanley Vollant : de Compostelle à Kuujjuaq (partie 2 de 2):
https://curio.ca/fr/video/stanley-vollant-de-compostelle-a-kuujjuaq-partie-2-de-2-14863/

Le Dr Stanley Vollant raconte sa vie et les débuts de la marche Innu Meshkenu

https://youtu.be/573NyTZTatU

Découvrez les chemins parcourus par Stanley Vollant

http://stanleyvollant.net/

 

Puamun Meskenu 2020, developed by La Boîte Rouge VIF

À cœur vaillant, rien d'impossible!

To  a valiant heart, nothing is impossible! 

 Ka katshitshishit auen apu tshekuannu nakaukut!

PUAMUN MESHKENU EN ACTION

Puamun Meshkenu (aussi connu sous l’appellation Chemin des mille rêves) est un organisme à non lucratif (OBNL) créée en 2016 par le Dr Stanley Vollant. Depuis sa création, l’organisme s’est donné comme aspiration d’inspirer et d’appuyer les Peuples autochtones à développer leur plein potentiel. Tout comme son ancêtre Innu Meshkenu, Puamun Meshkenu initie des projets dans le but de marquer de façon fondamentale la vie de nombreux jeunes autochtones et de créer un mouvement structurant pour l’ensemble des communautés autochtones du Québec.

Notre public cible

Puamun Meshkenu développe des projets afin d’inspirer et d’appuyer les Peuples autochtones à développer leur plein potentiel. Pour y arriver, nous misons sur des projets pouvant avoir un impact positif sur les jeunes autochtones.

Puamun, n. i. : rêve (pwamu:n)

Meshkenu, n. i. : route, sentier, chemin, voie Voir aussi meshkanau, meshkanu

NOTRE MISSION

Notre mission est d’inspirer et appuyer les Peuples autochtones afin qu’ils tracent leur propre chemin des mille rêves (« Puamun Meshkenu » en Innu) de façon holistique, soit mentalement, spirituellement, physiquement et émotionnellement.

 

Nous accompagnons les Peuples autochtones afin que chaque personne développe son plein potentiel et contribue au mieux-être collectif avec le support de sa communauté. Nous agissons dans la perspective de promouvoir les saines habitudes de vie, encourager la persévérance scolaire et favoriser la réconciliation.

NOTRE VISION

Nous avons un rêve (« Puamun » en Innu), soit celui que les Peuples autochtones se développent à leur plein potentiel et contribuent au mieux-être collectif.

 

La reconnaissance de Puamun Meshkenu et son approche humaine et inclusive permettent à l’organisme de poser des actions concrètes visant à développer le plein potentiel des Peuples autochtones en valorisant la santé holistique, la persévérance scolaire et l’identité autochtone. Les actions portées par l’organisme ont un impact sur le mieux-être collectif et contribuent à la reconnaissance des Peuples autochtones dans la société.

NOS VALEURS

Tradition 

Il s’agit de maintenir et préserver les traditions culturelles, identitaires et coutumières des Peuples autochtones soient le partage, la transmission, l’éducation, la valorisation et le respect des cultures autochtones. Cette valeur porte aussi la capacité de résilience et la volonté de prendre part à la modernité avec fierté.

Mieux-être 

C’est la capacité à travailler pour l’amélioration du bien-être des personnes, selon leurs besoins et en respect de leur vécu et leurs différences. Le mieux-être requiert d’agir en perspective de retrouver un équilibre et vise la responsabilisation. Cette valeur est basée sur les principes holistiques de la Roue de médecine.

 

Collaboration 

C’est le fait de travailler ensemble, à une œuvre commune, pour et par les Peuples autochtones. Il s’agit aussi de valoriser les collaborations constructives avec les partenaires et les Allochtones. Cela implique respect, honnêteté, transparence et volonté de réconciliation. Elle s’illustre enfin par la collaboration des membres de l’équipe de Puamun Meshkenu, selon leurs forces et leurs compétences, dans la créativité et l’action.

Engagement 

C’est le fait de s’impliquer dans la réalisation de la mission, avec enthousiasme, détermination et conviction. Cette valeur implique la vitalité et le dynamisme de l’organisme dans ses accomplissements, ainsi qu’une gestion saine, optimale et respectueuse. Cela génère l’abondance et la réalisation des rêves. Cette valeur s’illustre aussi dans le fait de prendre sa juste place.

NOS PRINCIPES DIRECTEURS

Nous considérons et respectons chaque personne dans son entièreté dans chacune de nos actions et de nos prises de décision. Quel que soit sa culture et son histoire, la personne est respectée dans son entièreté. Nous sommes à l’écoute des besoins exprimés par les jeunes autochtones et nous développons nos actions dans cette perspective.

Notre approche est holistique, humaine et inclusive. Nos actions sont pensées et déployées dans la perspective des principes de la Roue de médecine, afin de rejoindre la personne dans les quatre (4) sphères de son développement : mental émotionnel, physique et spirituel.

Nous considérons les enjeux climatiques dans nos choix et nos activités autant que possible et dans la mesure de nos moyens. Nous faisons des choix écologiques lors de nos évènements et nos rencontres sont tenues virtuellement autant que possible. Nous visons zéro émission de GES dans l’ensemble de nos activités. Dans le cas contraire, selon la disponibilité de nos ressources, nous tentons de compenser nos émissions de GES.

Nous souhaitons développer autant que possible notre programmation au niveau national, et ce dans une perspective de 5 à 8 ans. À long terme, nous visons développer nos activités et notre programmation à travers tout le Canada afin de rejoindre les jeunes de tous les Peuples autochtones. Dès à présent, nous évaluons toutes les demandes qui viennent des autres provinces et répondons à ces demandes dans le respect de notre plan d’action et de nos ressources.

Plan stratégique 2020-2025

planification-01.jpg
 

D'OÙ L'ON VIENT ?

Le mouvement de marche Innu Meshkenu

Innu Meshkenu est un mouvement de marche de plus de 6000 km initié par le Dr Stanley Vollant qui s’est déroulé de 2010 à 2017. Parcourant la route de ses ancêtres, le Dr Vollant va à la rencontre des Autochtones vivant dans les communautés partout au Québec. Il désire transmettre son message d’espoir aux jeunes et prend le temps de visiter de nombreuses écoles sur son trajet. Le mouvement de marche permet de faire la promotion des saines habitudes de vie et de faire vivre aux communautés autochtones et allochtones une expérience de rapprochement entre les deux cultures. Véritable inspiration pour plusieurs, le mouvement de marche atteint de nombreux Autochtones qui décident de se joindre également au grand projet humain qu’est Innu Meshkenu. En portant le message de la persévérance scolaire aux jeunes qu’il rencontre sur sa route, il récolte, dans son bâton de marche, leurs rêves et leur transmet un message d’espoir : « À cœur vaillant, rien d’impossible ».

Journal de bord  du Dr Vollant

Capsules du Dr Stanley Vollant durant son parcours de Manawan, Kitigan Zibi à Rapid Lake

Découvrez le journal de bord du Dr Stanley Vollant

Capture d’écran, le 2020-06-16 à 15.22

QUI EST STANLEY VOLLANT?

BIOGRAPHIE DE STANLEY VOLLANT

Innu de Pessamit, Dr Stanley Vollant a grandi aux abords du fleuve Saint-Laurent sur la Côte-Nord. Dès son plus jeune âge, il est initié aux enseignements traditionnels autochtones par son grand-père maternel qui lui transmet toute l’importance des valeurs communautaires. 

 

Il réalisera ses études secondaires et postsecondaires dans la région de Québec avant d’obtenir, en 1989, son diplôme de docteur en médecine (MD) de l’Université de Montréal. Il complètera sa formation en 1994 avec un diplôme d’études spécialisées en chirurgie générale. Il devient dès lors le tout premier chirurgien autochtone du Québec.

 

Stanley Vollant amorce sa carrière en décembre de la même année au Centre hospitalier régional de Baie-Comeau en tant que médecin spécialiste (chirurgien général). Il pratiquera à titre de chirurgien généraliste dans plusieurs centres hospitaliers, tel que l’hôpital de Dolbeau-Mistassini, l’hôpital de Chicoutimi ainsi que l’hôpital Montfort d’Ottawa. Il a également pratiqué la chirurgie générale dans sa communauté et travailler auprès des siens. Il pratique actuellement la chirurgie générale à l’Hôpital Notre-Dame de Montréal.

 

En 2004, il obtient le titre de professeur adjoint en chirurgie et directeur du programme autochtone de la faculté de médecine de l’Université d’Ottawa. En 2010, il devient coordonnateur du volet autochtone de la faculté de médecine de l’Université de Montréal. Il crée alors les mini-écoles de la santé pour faire connaître aux jeunes autochtones les différents secteurs d’emploi dans le domaine de la santé.

 

Parmi ses contributions notoires, mentionnons un mandat à la présidence de l’Association médicale du Québec et un siège au conseil exécutif de l’Association médicale canadienne. Dr Vollant est le tout premier Autochtone à être nommé à la tête d’une association médicale en Amérique du Nord. Au fils des ans, on lui a aussi attribué de nombreuses distinctions. En 1996, le Gouverneur général du Canada le désigne « Personnage modèle autochtone » et en 2014, il est nommé Chevalier de l’Ordre du Québec. On lui décerne la médaille du Lieutenant-gouverneur du Québec pour mérite exceptionnel en 2017 ainsi que la Médaille Premiers Peuples (nation Innu) remise par le Lieutenant-Gouverneur du Québec en 2019.

 

À la suite d’un voyage sur le chemin de Compostelle, il ressent le besoin d’aller parcourir la route de ses ancêtres en traversant le Québec à la rencontre des différentes communautés autochtones. Il débute donc, à l’automne 2010, une grande marche à travers le Québec afin de promouvoir les saines habitudes de vie auprès des jeunes autochtones. Ce projet deviendra un grand mouvement de mobilisation nommé INNU MESHKENU, qui veut dire « chemin Innu ». Plus de 6000 km seront parcourus par Dr Vollant. Plusieurs autres Autochtones se joindront à lui pour inspirer les jeunes à croire en leur potentiel.

 

Dr Stanley Vollant décide de créer l’organisme Puamun Meshkenu en 2016 afin de poursuivre les objectifs entamés avec Innu Meshkenu. En développant de nombreux projets visant entre autres la persévérance scolaire et les saines habitudes de vie, l’organisme continu d’évoluer en respectant l’approche holistique propre à la culture autochtone. Depuis plus de 30 ans, Dr Stanley Vollant s’intéresse à la question de la santé des membres des Premières Nations et, de manière de plus en plus engagée, au bien-être global des peuples autochtones du Canada.

Pour en savoir encore plus sur la vie du Dr Vollant

Stanley Vollant : de Compostelle à Kuujjuaq (partie 1 de 2): 
https://curio.ca/fr/video/stanley-vollant-de-compostelle-a-kuujjuaq-partie-1-de-2-14431/

 

Stanley Vollant : de Compostelle à Kuujjuaq (partie 2 de 2):
https://curio.ca/fr/video/stanley-vollant-de-compostelle-a-kuujjuaq-partie-2-de-2-14863/

Le Dr Stanley Vollant raconte sa vie et les débuts de la marche Innu Meshkenu

https://youtu.be/573NyTZTatU

Découvrez les chemins parcourus par Stanley Vollant

http://stanleyvollant.net/

 

© 2020 Puamun Meskenu, développé par La Boîte Rouge VIF. Tous droits réservés.